Camper submitted image from Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground - 1
View All
Camper submitted image from Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground - 2
Nature
Camper submitted image from Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground - 3
Facilities
Camper submitted image from Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground - 4
Camping
Camper submitted image from Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground - 5
Activities

Established Camping

Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground

Review Campground Win Gear

Do you own or manage this property?

Claim Your Listing

About

State Park

Welcome to the Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground, nestled near Mount Tremper, NY. This spot is a favorite for many, offering a cozy and inviting atmosphere. Open from May 19 to October 9, it’s a great place to unwind and enjoy the natural beauty of the Catskills.

The campground features clean and well-maintained facilities, including bathrooms and showers that are free and temperature-controlled. There’s a central dishwashing station and a dedicated trash/recycling room, making it easy to keep your site tidy. If you’re bringing an RV, you’ll appreciate the big rig-friendly sites and the sanitary dump station.

For those who love outdoor activities, the campground offers paddle board and kayak rentals for the lake, and there are some great hiking trails right on the grounds. The playground is a hit with families, providing a fun and safe space for kids to play.

Pets are welcome here, and there’s even a fenced dog park where your furry friends can run around. Each campsite comes with a picnic table and a grill, perfect for those evening cookouts. Firewood is available for purchase, so you can enjoy a cozy campfire under the stars.

Visitors have mentioned that the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, always ready to assist with any needs. The sites are generally spacious and offer a good amount of privacy, though some are closer together than others.

If you’re looking to explore the area, Woodstock, NY is just a short drive away and offers charming shops and eateries. Whether you’re here for a weekend getaway or a longer stay, the Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground provides a peaceful retreat with plenty of amenities to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Suggest an Edit

Location

Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground is located in New York

Detail location of campground

Directions

From Thruway Exit 19 at Kingston, take the first right turn off the traffic circle to Route 28. Proceed approximately 21 miles west on Rte 28 to Mt. Tremper. Turn right on to Rte 212. Turn right again on Wittenberg Road (County Rte 40). The campsite is approximately 4 miles down, on the right side. Alternate Route: From Route 28 West, turn right at Rte 375 and follow it to Rte 212. Turn left off Rte. 212, at Bear's Cafe, onto Rte. 45. Take County Rte. 40 to the campground, on the left side of the road.

Address

859 Wittenberg Road
Mount Tremper, NY 12457

Coordinates

42.02470747 N
74.22157181 W

Open in Google Maps

The Dyrt Alerts

Get reservations at sold-out campgrounds.

Learn More

Access

  • Drive-In
    Park next to your site
  • Walk-In
    Park in a lot, walk to your site.
  • Boat-In
    Sites accessible by watercraft.

Stay Connected

  • WiFi
    Unknown
  • Verizon
    Good
  • AT&T
    Good
  • T-Mobile
    Good

Site Types

  • Tent Sites
  • RV Sites
  • Standard (Tent/RV)
  • Group

Features

For Campers

  • ADA Access
  • Trash
  • Picnic Table
  • Firewood Available
  • Reservable
  • Showers
  • Drinking Water
  • Toilets
  • Alcohol
  • Pets
  • Fires

For Vehicles

  • Sanitary Dump
  • Water Hookups
  • Big Rig Friendly

Reviews

Add Review

5 Stars

4 Stars

3 Stars

2 Stars

1 Star

69%
32%
0%
0%
0%

4.5

out of 5

22 Reviews

Sam L.The Dyrt PRO User
Reviewed Aug. 8, 2023

Nicest Campground in the Catskills?

Spent a night at Kenneth L. Wilson in early August of 2023. We had site 52.

I was impressed with this campsite! While some of the spots were fairly close together, they seem more spread out than in other Catskill camping sites. Our site was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There's a central dishwashing station as well as a trash/recycling room. Water is from several spigots around the site. We didn't partake, but apparently they rent paddle boards and kayaks for the lake. There's also a really nice looking playground. 

We stayed on a Friday night, and things were pretty quiet (though that could have been because of the rain). 

For what it's worth, I had basically no cell service with Verizon.

Site52
Month of VisitSeptember
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Sam L., August 8, 2023
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Sam L., August 8, 2023
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Sam L., August 8, 2023
  • (5) View All
M
Reviewed Aug. 4, 2023

So Clean & Kind Staff

My boyfriend and I stayed at site 71 in the middle of June this year and it was quiet and so nice!! Site 71 was separated a little bit from other sites as you can see on the map which was so nice and also just a 20-second walk from the bathroom. The bathrooms were very clean and new and the showers were free and temperature controlled to perfectly warm!! The ladies that run this campground are absolute queens and were so nice and helpful. 

We didn't really see much wildlife and barely any bugs/mosquitos which was maybe the time of year (early/mid-June). The campground has some great hiking trails and a cozy vibe in a beautiful part of NY. We stopped in Woodstock, NY on the way back which was a cute town. I would definitely come back to this campground!

Site71
Month of VisitJuly
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Melanie H., August 4, 2023
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Melanie H., August 4, 2023
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Melanie H., August 4, 2023
  • (14) View All
Gary G.The Dyrt PRO User
Reviewed Sep. 28, 2022

Solid State Park with good camping!

We stayed at this campground for 8 nights in September and had easy access to the Catskill 3500' mountains.  The staff was friendly and helpful.  The facility was clean, well maintained, and comfortable.  They sell wood (kiln dried) but not ice.  Woodstock NY is only a few miles away as is Phonecia.

Site15
Month of VisitOctober
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Gary G., September 28, 2022
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Gary G., September 28, 2022
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Gary G., September 28, 2022
  • (10) View All
T
Reviewed Sep. 19, 2022

Nice stay and very friendly staff

Such a clean and well maintained campground. Staff were so nice and friendly. Only one shower area that was a bit of a trek from our site, a bike would have been nice to get around. We had to move our tent as we had set it back too far and was not on the site pad and park ranger Brian who was very lovely came and asked us to move it and we had a nice chat. Lovely big dog park. There are some nice little walks and small hikes on the ground with a lake that you can rent kayaks or canoes. Close to Woodstock which is a cute town. Our site was a little exposed but the sites either side of us were closed for restoration thankfully. There are some more secluded and set back sites too though.

Site14
Month of VisitOctober
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Tara F., September 19, 2022
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Tara F., September 19, 2022
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Tara F., September 19, 2022
  • (5) View All
Elizabeth D.
Reviewed Oct. 14, 2021

Great quiet campsite !

First impressions of this site were very clean and accessible! Access to fresh water spouts and clean bathrooms were just a walk away from most sites, theres a beautiful pond on site and beautiful views of the Catskills, Woodstock is a 15 min drive if you’re looking for a bite to eat or shop, and the sites themselves were pretty large with a good amount of space between sites

Sitea1
Month of VisitNovember
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Elizabeth D., October 14, 2021
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Elizabeth D., October 14, 2021
D
Reviewed Oct. 4, 2021

Big Widely Spaced Sites

Lots of room in many sites for my 24 ft RV and 30 ft trailer. Big meadow in middle with new full playground set.

Dry camping but water available and a sewer dump. Gotta haul your own trash.

Two ponds to play in and a fenced dog park.

Some nice hiking in the park.

Site75
Month of VisitOctober
K
Reviewed Sep. 27, 2021

Camp cozy!

Can a campground be cozy? I think this place is. 

It's not too big, and it's not too small, it's just right. 

Bring decent tent pegs because you will probably hit a stone or two. 

They sell huge bags of firewood for 8 or 9 dollars and it's much better than the plastic wrapped stuff you get at convenience stores.

Last time we went they were sold out and we had to buy (damp) wood elsewhere.

Each loop has a bathroom. They are clean and well-lit.

They have a single building for trash/recycle/reuse and for washing dishes. They also have a playground and a dog park.

The campsites are nice and shaded.

Each site has a picnic table and grill. The picnic tables can be moved around. 

No Wi-Fi. Haven't tried to make a call so I'm not sure about that.

I'd feel safe here if I camped alone. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Month of VisitOctober
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kimberly , September 27, 2021
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kimberly , September 27, 2021
DThe Dyrt PRO User
Reviewed Jul. 9, 2021

Quiet no cell service

Although No cell service site was nice . Was our first shakedown camping trip. Very nice (clean) bathrooms and showers. Private level site surrounded by trees. EZ access to fresh water spigot. Enjoyed our stay, would return.

Site33
Month of VisitJuly
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Daniel L., July 9, 2021
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Daniel L., July 9, 2021
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Daniel L., July 9, 2021
  • (8) View All
MThe Dyrt PRO User
Reviewed Sep. 7, 2020

Clean and Spacious

Large campground! We camped during COVID a couple of weeks ago and the staff were not there to check us in upon arrival. It seemed they left early which also meant we couldn’t buy wood from them but it all worked out. The grounds were quiet with enough space between sites. The other campers were friendly and everyone kept to themselves. We had a great time. The booking website is pretty painful to use. Our site was nice and flat also. Water spout was great and they were all over.

  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Margarita Z., September 7, 2020
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Margarita Z., September 7, 2020
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Margarita Z., September 7, 2020
  • (6) View All
Katherine P.
Reviewed Jul. 27, 2020

Busy but Private

We had a 3-day weekend tent camping at This site from July 24-26 2020, at site 58 on Loop C. It was almost completely full that weekend, with a bit of coming and going. Campsites are fairly close together with a variety of levels of privacy. Ours allowed you to be pretty far back from the road for more privacy, but some of the other sites were literally next to the road.

Campsite is flat and packed dirt instead of gravel, which was great. There's a standard picnic table and a decent raised fire pit, and a spigot at our site. Bathrooms were a bit of a hike, but they were clean and had plenty of signage advising people during the pandemic. The park staff were keeping things really clean as well.

Check-in was easy, if you bring a pet make sure you have your paperwork with you, they do actually look at it.

  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Katherine P., July 27, 2020
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Katherine P., July 27, 2020
Stacey R.
Reviewed Aug. 28, 2019

Nice place to stay

They have decent size sites, a lot were very private some more open. I have nothing bad to say. Restrooms and showers were clean, Rangers were pleasant to deal with and on top of everything, Bears were seen in the park and they noticed I had left food unattended ( I was walking to get a sponge from a friend at a neighboring site) and stopped to me it inquire. We camped in September and the campground was pretty empty = nice and peaceful!!! wish I had taken more photos.

Month of VisitOctober
Michael G.
Reviewed Aug. 20, 2019

Best Small Camping in Catskills

KENNETH was a smaller campground that felt perfect for us. Private sites (not all, but many), clean bathrooms & showers and very friendly staff. There is no swimming currently on the lakes, but you can rent canoes/kayaks to fish or paddle around. The views from the day-use area is fantastic. We camped there for 4 nights a few weeks ago and we enjoyed all aspects.

Inside the park are four very easy hiking trails all around 1 mile in length. All of them were pleasant trips, especially the nature trail and blue trail. As you walk along the trails you constantly see or pass over the old rock walls that can be found throughout the Catskills.

Weekdays, the park was at a low capacity, weekends definitely picked up, but it was still very quiet and never loud beyond 10pm. Great place to visit and we shall definitely return.

Ellen C.
Reviewed May. 30, 2019

Wonderfully wooded sites

We stayed here in 2014 with a seven friends and family.  We had four sites - 26, 27, 28, 29.  It was the first time in my life I was handed a bear waiver that needed my signature upon check in, but we weren't deterred.

Although, we did not encounter any wild animals during our four day stay, I did see bear scat in several locations.  We followed the rules, and kept all food and scented items in the car when not in use and utilized the very convenient wash sink behind the recycle/trash building. 

The sites were beautiful and spacious, the others around us seemed a too close for comfort but these four sites were spaced out very well. 

The fire pits were amazing, the temperatures dropped on our last night and the heat radiated off the concrete encasement wonderfully.

Site26 & 27
Month of VisitOctober
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Ellen C., May 30, 2019
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Ellen C., May 30, 2019
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Ellen C., May 30, 2019
  • (7) View All
David G.
Reviewed May. 28, 2019

Great State Campground

Great state campground near Woodstock,NY. Pull in sites for car camping. Clean bathroom facilities with showers and outdoor cleaning stations for dishes and stuff. Been here twice would go back if in the area.

K
Reviewed May. 25, 2019

Got chased off by a bear

It was the wildest weekend I ever had, I'm not being sarcastic. The hiking areas are great, the weather is perfect and the bear was very nice for a bear. Pictured below is my partner with A Friend.

B
Reviewed Jul. 8, 2018

Beautiful wooded dog friendly camping!

Just a stone's throw from NYC, this state campground has lots of wooded sites. Easily accessible, with fire pits,, picnic tables and great hiking.

Month of VisitAugust
Kyla B.
Reviewed Jun. 10, 2018

Large and wooded!

Large and heavily wooded! Enjoyed our stay even on a busy weekend. They have a lake on site with swimming. We happened to spend the weekend on a day with free canoe/kayak rentals which was great! We had a great time and definitely seemed family friendly. Great price and lots of good hiking near!

Site64
Month of VisitJuly
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kyla B., June 10, 2018
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kyla B., June 10, 2018
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kyla B., June 10, 2018
Kirstin T.
Reviewed Sep. 14, 2017

Lots of fun

The campsite was great. Big and going after Labor Day means there was tons of space. Well priced. We did have neighbors that had a trailer and used their generator early in the morning and late at night. Beside that it was fantastic. We had planned on driving to hiking but there was so much to do around the camp site we just walked around and did the hiking near by. The dog park is wonderful. Our dog loved it.

SiteA21
Month of VisitOctober
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kirstin T., September 14, 2017
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kirstin T., September 14, 2017
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kirstin T., September 14, 2017
Kristen B.
Reviewed Sep. 13, 2016

Nestled in The Catskills

This campground is nestled in the Catskills, New York, with easy access to New Jersey and Connecticut. With large campsites and most surrounded by trees, you will find just the right mix of privacy and community depending upon what you are looking for. Although the showers aren't top notch, they do have them and a great recycling center for all of your garbage. If hiking is what you enjoy, they have nearly 4 miles of trails within the campground and surrounding areas that circle two nearby ponds and their day use area. If you are looking for something offsite, don't miss the Giant Ledge hike, a 30 min drive and about a 3 mile out and back hike to Giant Ledge for amazing views overlooking the entire area. Head out to watch the sunrise one morning with awesome views looking east. When you need a break from cooking, don't miss the nearby Phoenicia Diner for some great breakfast and coffee! All of the Park Rangers are very helpful and will provide recommendations and maps, just ask!

  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kristen B., September 13, 2016
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kristen B., September 13, 2016
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Kristen B., September 13, 2016
Maribeth W.
Reviewed Aug. 9, 2016

Location Location

For hiking in and around the Phoenicia area this place is the BEST! An easy commute to town, and yet secluded and wooded. WIll be back many times!

  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by Maribeth W., August 9, 2016
phillip L.
Reviewed Jul. 30, 2016

Hugge imprivement

When i came I was really impressed with the improvements they made here. I haven't came her in 3 years and it looks better than ever. They constructed a really nice fishing pier.The sites were well taken of by other campers and almost look brand new. The restrooms are a short trek away. The showers are really clean and didn't see much campers using them . I stayed at site 26 and was perfect. I reserved it for 20 dollars and had everything I look for in a campsite. There are bears and if you leave food out you will get a warning notice if seen. the rangers were really nice and would go up to you can introduce themselves. If you had any problems you can ask them.

  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by phillip L., July 30, 2016
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by phillip L., July 30, 2016
  • Review photo of Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground by phillip L., July 30, 2016
  • (10) View All
T
Reviewed Jul. 6, 2016

Kenneth L. Wilson Campground

Campsite was secluded and quiet. Close to hiking trails and the facilities were in good shape.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground have RV hookups?

According to TheDyrt.com, Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground has water hookups.

What is the max vehicle length at Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground?

Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground allows vehicles up to 30 feet.

Are fires allowed at Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground?

Yes, according to campers on TheDyrt.com, fires are allowed at Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground, although make sure to check current fire restrictions in the area.

Does Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground have wifi?

No, according to campers on TheDyrt.com, Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground does not have wifi.

Is there cell phone reception at Catskill/Kenneth L Wilson Campground?

According to campers on TheDyrt.com, Verizon signal is good, AT&T is good, and T-Mobile is good.