Favorite things to make for dinner while camping

I feel like I make the same things over and over again (probably because I know it ‘works’ on the road, easy to pack/shop, etc) so share away! Looking for inspiration to change it up!!!

1 Like

@Kathleen_C I am new to camping so if you want to share your favorite things I am open to ideas! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hello! well, I mostly make food that I can prep before I hit the road. Breakfasts I usually make the filling for breakfast burritos (eggs, soy chorizo [I’m not vegan or vegetarian, just trader joes makes an excellent soy chorizo] but any breakfast meat will do, potatoes, peppers and onions) and freeze it so it helps keep all the other food cold, and by morning, it’s easy to heat and serve. I also make a decent chili and side of mac and cheese (also freezes and reheats well). I also do foil packets of bbq chicken and potatoes and freeze that… are you starting to see a pattern here lol. I also make the filling for calzones (you guessed it, I freeze that too!) and make calzones with my pie irons using store bought pizza dough. I also like to make or buy ‘cowboy burgers’ (whole foods and spouts have them in their meat counter) and basically all the major add ons are in the burger already (onions, cheese, etc) so you just bring buns and condiments (lettuce doesn’t travel that well, so if I want it, I make this on my first night). Early in my reuniting with camping, I did pancakes (poorly at first, they improved with time) I would take a water bottle and make the mixture in that so it was ready to go, I did the same for eggs so they were ‘pre-scrambled’. Trader Joe’s sells these little cartons of egg whites which are perfect if you’re looking to transport eggs easily. I actually prefer egg whites, just have never loved the yolk. Lunches are usually caprese or ham, brie, fig butter (hot or cold) sandwiches - no freezing required, lol.

Here’s a pix of the pie irons - I think this was at Big Bear…

7 Likes