Can we discuss generator use?

I’m a camping vet, from backpacking to 36 ’ RV and currently in an 8’ teardrop. It’s the generators that drive us crazy…from dispersed camping to occasional state parking. We are totally OK with a generator if we see a disability tag, but for the average camper…WHY??? Is anyone else frustrated with the sound of a generator blocking out the sounds of nature? And, can I hear some justification for running a generator during the day, night, whatever that may help my bad attitude? Thank you.

I hate hearing the sound of generators when I’m camping but I carry one and use it when needed. Some places I can’t get enough solar to keep my batteries charged when we’re using the heater a lot at night. It is a small, fairly quiet invertor generator and I try the run it as briefly as possible and during a time when most people aren’t in camp. Also try to face the exhaust away from neighbors as much as possible.

2 Likes

I’m right with you here - HATE mechanical noises when I’m camping - Generators, AC units in RV’s, heater fans, (or a exhaust fan from a nearby restroom facility for that matter)… or other people’s idea of music I have to listen to - I’m camping because I want to experience the nature around me… a parliament of owls, a murder of crows, the wind though white pines, the sound of rain on tent wall.

4 Likes