Camping and Fishing Trips

If you love to Camp AND Fish where you camp, this is a good forum to discuss this passion. I am an avid kayak angler and I pretty much look for places to camp that has access to fishing, especially kayak fishing. I am currently living in the Bay Area of California and have done a few reviews in Dyrt. I also lived in Idaho and have quite a few Dyrt reviews for camping and fishing locations there :slight_smile:
If you share the same passion, let’s talk about it!

1 Like

I am looking for good parks to camp and fish at in Utah. I’m not looking for honey holes or anything, just a place to start. I have very little trout fishing experience but I would like to experience what western trout fishing has to offer.

I have a few favorite spots within an hour or so of Nashville, TN that have lake or river side camping spots. I do a couple trips a year where I camp up there and can launch my kayak from the campsite to chase sauger and largemouth.

I have gotten a bit bored with that though so I am shifting my focus next year. Instead of base camping and kayak fishing one zone/area of the lake I am going to a truck topper/camper with almost no setup or breakdown so I can work the length of a new river staying at a new site every night. I want to target smallies and trout, maybe even a muskie if I am in the right stretch of water.

I even picked up a personal drift pontoon boat so I do not have to haul the kayak. My kayak was really more of an open water (long) rig and not great in skinny water. I think the ability to move and cover water with both the truck camper and the drift boat will make the fishing a bit more exciting for me.

Next on the list is the Holston River in East TN, apparently a prime smallie stretch of water and great for browns in the spring. Public access and camping is limited so the ability to boondock and move will be key.