Backpacking Pillow

Curious what pillows people use while backpacking? I just squish my puffy into a beanie and call it a day :slight_smile:

Sounds about right - my husband carries a “backpacking pillow” but I’m not into carrying things that are that specific. Plus when you use your extra clothes or “puffy” for a pillow it doesn’t have to take up space anywhere else at night!! Have fun hiking!!

I use the Klymit XL pillow and love it. Packs down smaller than a salt shaker and is infinitesimally adjustable.

1 Like

I’ve been rocking an REI down travel pillow for the past 11 years- it’s held up well. It will run you about 30 bucks and even though it says “do not wash”, I do and no problems have surfaced yet :sweat_smile:. The only problem with it is that it doesn’t have as much structure as a good ol’ sweatshirt roll.

Recently, I purchased a Casper “nap” pillow. I was skeptical, but dang- it’s pretty sweet. Firm but in a structured kind of way- not like a brick. Sometimes the clothing roll-up can hurt after a while- with the Casper, it’s not the case. It’s a little heavier though, and I wouldn’t want it to get wet. Good luck on your search!

I have a klymit pillow, I have neck problems, and sometimes I’m tempted to use it at home. I love how it cradles my head.

I have a Rumpl pillowcase (weight: 0.2 lb). It’s fleece on one side and a smooth (poly blend, I think) fabric on the other. I still have to stuff it with something (usually a smartwool hoodie) but it doesn’t squish out and it doesn’t feel lumpy. It also packs into itself to make a fist-sized nugget.

Sea to summit and outdoor vitals are my favorite.

a pile of clothes in a stuff sack seems to work pretty well for me. I’ve had two inflatable pillows, neither lasted more than one weekend.

The Nemo Fillo Elite Pillow has, by far, become my favorite. I like the Klymit one, but after trying the Nemo pillows, I just can’t go back.