Backpacking Stove Set-up

I’ve been meaning to upgrade my stove for a while now and am torn between just buying a newer version of the Jetboil Flash that I’ve been using for the past 8 years or going with something else.

I know there’s quite a few companies out there and multiple options regarding fuel type and if the stove system os self-contained (like my Jetboil) or made up of a separate stove/pot/fuel canister. What has everyone else been using?

1 Like

I got the Primus Omnifuel last year and I LOVE it! It packs down light weight in a super durable bag, lights insanely quickly, and I can use any type of fuel with it so if I run out of something on a through-hike I can pick up whatever is available at the local shop and switch out the fuel controls in about 3 seconds because they are attached to the stove and not in a bag of mixed parts I would most likely have left at home.

I love white gas for backpacking so this was the big decision in switching from a jet boil. I didn’t want to have to carry around propane canisters.

2 Likes

I have a few stoves that I like.

I primarily use a MSR Pocket Rocket 2 with a small pot. The PR2 boils water great, but can also simmer. I like the flexibility of having a stove and pot in situations where campfires are allowed and I’m able to cook with my pot directly over the campfire.

I also have an Emberlit Fireant twig stove. When fires are allowed it is easy and fun to cook over a small fire. The Fireant stove also works in combination with a Trangia alcohol stove when wood is not available.

I really liked this one when you had it out!! Seemed very easy and I hadn’t used an omnifuel previously so great to see how it worked. Not to mention that WIND SCREEN!!! LOVED IT!!